Tuesday, August 14, 2012

World of Warcraft – Character Choices

One of the toughest decision you have to make begins right at the very start of your World of Warcraft journey: choosing a character. Granted, this popular MMORPG lets you create more than one, but you’ll eventually focus on a single character – your main toon – as if you live through him/her. Knowing what you want from the start will prevent you from wasting time and effort. For instance, you could spend day after day leveling on a character and then realize you’re not really finding yourself of loving the game as much as you should.

World of Warcraft Blood Elf Mage

The first choice you make in WoW is when you log in on a new account for the first time. The game will ask you to select a realm – the term Blizzard calls its multiple servers. A character, at most times, can only interact with another on the same realm, so make sure you’ll be playing on the one where your friends currently are.

World of Warcraft Realm Selection

Realms are classified into four types: Player vs Environment (PvE or Normal), Player vs Player (PvP), Roleplaying (RP), and RP-PvP. Players who want to thoroughly follow the story in World of Warcraft without major interference from other players should choose a PvE server. On the other hand, those who have blood lust against other players should opt PvP. RP and RP-PvP are essentially the same as the previous two, with the sole difference of encouraged heavy roleplaying.

World of Warcraft Character CustomizationOnce a realm is chosen, the next decision to make is your character itself. If you really want to blend in with the game, you should give your toon a name that is appropriate for its class, gender, race, and others. The name should also be easy for others to remember and must abide by Blizzard’s naming policy.

Waging a never-ending war against each other, there are two playable factions in the World of Warcraft. Swearing allegiance to one faction therefore makes you an enemy of the other. On one side are the humans, gnomes, draenei, worgen, and dwarves that fight for the glory of the Alliance. On the other hand, the tauren, orcs, trolls, blood elves, and goblins have banded together as the mighty Horde. Each of these races have distinct racial traits that give advantages in certain situations.

Finally, you will need to choose a character class. Each class has a different set of skills and role in combat (DPS, tanking, and healing), among other things. For instance, those who would like to deal tremendous damage from afar can pick either the mage, warlock, and hunter. The rogue, on the other hand, specialize in melee combat. With the ability to withstand the most devastating blows, warriors and death knights fight at the frontlines as tanks and protect the ranged classes. Furthermore, healing the wounded is the primary task of the priest. The remaining classes – the druid, monk, and shaman – are hybrids or capable of specializing in one of the three roles.

Of less priority in character choices are gender and appearance (hair, skin color, etc.). They do not have a significant impact to the game, aside from aesthetic purposes.

While I previously mentioned that the choices to make are permanent, Blizzard offers customizations for your character. For a certain amount of fee, you will be able to switch factions, race, realms, and more. Only changing from one class to another is not available.

Technorati Tags:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please add comments that contribute to the topic of my post.

If you're just gonna thank me for providing you great and helpful info, why not share the post on Facebook? Or +1 it on Google+? I'd really appreciate it. :)